This Weeks Recipes From Around The Web

Spider web

What I Found to Eat This Week. Yum.

I can’t say how glad I am that get to make some of the great recipes that are out there. First up; Eclectic Recipes Black Bean Mango Salad. This was a perfect end of the summer salad, the brightness of the lime juice and the sweetness of the ripe mango, and the clean cilantro flavor let me know that summer isn’t quite over yet and the heartiness of the quinoa with the black beans made me remember that fall with it’s wonderful warm flavors and dishes is on its way and that’s a season worth celebrating as well.

I also had the pleasure of making Ubiquitous Food Cravings Pad Thai. What I loved about this recipe was how clean and tasty the flavors were and yet how satisfying the dish was.

Rice Noodles Soaking

The carrots and the cucumbers kept the dish fresh and I added in scallions on my second batch for a little bite.

I also loved how easy this was to make. She used a store-bought pad thai sauce and I will make my own next time, but for a great, quick, healthy vegetarian meal I highly recommend this, I made it twice!

And because I believe in balance I also had the pleasure of making Scotch Eggs from Them Apples. I was so hungry by the time these got done cooking I forgot to take a picture, but not to worry, the one on Them Apples website is so fabulous you will instantly want to make them as well. Essentially a Scotch Egg is a hardboiled chicken egg that is wrapped in a layer of sage seasoned pork sausage (you can use lamb as well) then rolled in bread crumbs (I used panko) and fried, so that you get a nice crispy crust that gives away to a layer of juicy, savory, salty sausage and finally into the firm flesh of a perfectly boiled egg. The only trick when making this that the eggs need to pulled from the boiling water when they are still a little underdone so that they don’t over cook once they are wrapped in the sausage and then cooked. These are so good that I felt a little guilty, but not guilty enough to not have a second one!

3 Comments to “This Weeks Recipes From Around The Web”

  1. I have always been a jarred pad thai sauce gal. Homemade? Tell me how it goes.

  2. Hey there,

    I was so floored when I saw that you had tried out my easy/quick homemade interpretation of pad thai. It’s a huge boost to know that not only someone actually reads what I write but has tried something I suggested. I’m glad it worked out for you and certainly nothing beats a homemade pad thai sauce but some days, pre-packaged is the way to go. Thanks for the shout out

    -J :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

