Busting Out of My Genes:Lebanese Style Beef Stew

As we know I am terrified of beef in this country. However, if I were Jesse’s position when he visits Portland I would be able to eat beef without fear. This recipe is from Jesse who is a guest writer here at Food Thinking. You can read more about Jesse here. Enjoy!

When I am in Portland it is so easy for me to prepare amazing healthy foods because my friend who I stay with sticks to an auto-immune health diet, has a fully stocked garden and always has half a cow in her freezer that she buys from a local farmer.  On my most recent trip I came home one day so wiped out that I didn’t think I had it in me to cook, but I had promised to make dinner.  I threw this together in an almost zombie-like state and it seriously turned into the most amazing thing I have ever made.

Lebanese Style Beef Stew

1 1/2 lbs organic stew meat

2 peeled and chopped white sweet potatoes

3 chopped carrots

1 large yellow onion

2 tbsp grated fresh ginger

4 or 5 cloves of garlic

2 tbsp cider vinegar

2 tbsp liquid aminos (or soy sauce if you don’t have digestive issues)

1 tbsp yellow curry powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp turmeric

2 cups pale ale

1 cup beef stock

4 or 5 chopped green onions

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1/4 cup coconut milk or cashew milk

2 tbsp olive oil

Pan sear the stew meat in a  heated oiled skillet. Add to pot.  In the same pan sauté carrots and onions adding to pot after the onions start to soften.  Mix in all remaining ingredients except the sweet potato, cilantro and coconut milk.

I cooked the stew for about 2 hours on medium-low heat and then added the sweet potato.  Cook for another 2 hours, mash up the sweet potato chunks a bit to give the stew a nice consistency and add in the coconut milk and cilantro.  Give it a good stir and it is ready to go.  Amazing!

Cooks Note: You can rush this a bit by cooking on a medium high heat for an hour and then simmering for a couple, but cooking it less than 3 hours doesn’t really do it justice.
Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Like This!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

